Pokemon Go in MA

pokemon_go_logo_rgb_900px_150ppi

Pokemon Go has taken MA by storm.

I view it as encouragement to take long walks, so I’m in.

My husband & in-laws all play too, so on the day I downloaded the app, my sister-in-law Jen and brother-in-law Doug walked around Milton with me to show me how the game works.

Since then, I’ve hunted for Pokemon in Peabody, Quincy, and Boston.

Pokemon Go is a free cell phone game that uses GPS to make you have to walk to specific location to virtually catch Pokemon. You have to be moving slowly or stopped to catch Pokemon (and I suspect it’s a safety feature. Don’t drive and play Pokemon Go! You’ll end up hurting someone!)

If you have the Augmented Reality (AR) view on, the Pokemon will look like they are in the location you are, using your cell phone camera.

Here’s an example from Boston Magazine of how the AR looks:

hypno

There’s a Hypno on the lawn in front of Trinity Church

I’m a level 13 player.

On Sunday, I walked 5.02 miles playing the game and yesterday I walked 5.31 miles playing. I tracked my walking with my Fitbit flex, since the Pokemon Go servers are glitching a bit with the extremely high demand.

I’m having a great time, and every other player I’ve met has been friendly and laughing about the whole Pokemon Go phenomenon.

cnhfrecxeaa7az4

My husband took this photo of everyone playing Pokemon Go around the Frog Pond in Boston on Monday night

According to my husband, the Frog Pond after work is a huge “Poke party” with everyone playing, someone blaring the Pokemon TV theme from a boombox on repeat, and people cheering when Pokemon Gym ownership changes over. “Go team Mystic!”

Are you playing Pokemon Go? What do you think?

One thought on “Pokemon Go in MA

  1. Pingback: Still Loving Pokemon Go | Getting Fit in Massachusetts

Leave a Reply

