Photo Blogging Challenge – Patriotic

The July photo blogging challenge theme was Patriotic. I knew I’d have an easy time with pictures for this one, and my problem has actually turned into figuring out which 5 to use.

Let’s start close to my home in Quincy, MA.

100_3586

The flag was at half mast because we lost a MA soldier in the Marine recruitment center shooting in TN

100_3338

Here’s a close up from earlier in the month of the Quincy WWI statue

100_3332

Patriotic books display in the Children’s room of the Thomas Crane Library

100_3350

Also in the library, my Rosie grandmother-in-law set up a collection box for letters for the troops.

To see lots more patriotic photos and learn more about my grandmother-in-law check out my June post:

Quincy Flag Day Parade – Honoring Rosie the Riveter

100_3362

Finally, here’s a display in the Union Oyster House celebrating the women of the American Revolution

Union Oyster House is Boston’s oldest restaurant, open since 1826. I was there this month because it’s where we host Boston Women Communicators Summer Social each year.

There we have it! They all unintentionally turned out to be photos taken in MA, despite a trip to NYC this month. I also took some photos of the American and MA flags flying next to each other, and some patriotic themed comics at New England Comics, but when you have too many photos to choose from, some have to get cut.

This monthly photo blogging challenge is facilitated by PJ of the Northeast Bloggers Network.

Thanks for inspiring me to take more photos!

13 thoughts on “Photo Blogging Challenge – Patriotic

    • I had forgotten that Nana was collecting letters at the library so it was an adorable surprise for me. She’s an amazing woman & I’m proud that she’s MA chapter president of the American Rosie the Riveter Association.

  1. I love the vintage library books, I get a sense of the American history of celebrating independence day by looking at those books. I like the handmade collection box too.

    • Thanks Pat!
      Yes – it’s fun to be a tourist in MA. If you visit, let me know & I’ll give some suggestions of what’s worth it to see.

      And get a clam chowder at the bar of Union Oyster house, not a full meal, since there are so many other delicious treats in the area you’d want to sample too.

  2. A friend of mine just got back from Boston and he’s got me wanting to get back. Now this. The world must be telling me I need to go back. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Two things struck me about your post this month. First, it prompted me to think about the fact that we don’t have many commemorative statues of people here in Calgary. I wish we did. Instead, local practice seems to be to name schools and other public buildings after people (almost always men) who played a significant role in our civic history. Second, I like knowing I’m not the only one who appreciates living close to a public library! I like the sense of history at your library branch. Ours is quite modern and sterile! Boston looks like a great place for history lovers!

    • Thanks!

      Yes, MA is a wonderful place for history lovers.

      The library in Quincy is celebrating the 70th anniversary of WWII ending and has a great display of propaganda posters from WWII up, along with a “big band” style concert this Sunday.

Leave a Reply

