New Balance Girls Night Out – Breast Cancer Awareness Run

On Wednesday night, I joined a fun group of ladies at New Balance for their Girls Night Out. This event had a 2.2 mile run – followed by speakers on Breast Cancer. NBGNO_10.8.14

Me, Maggie, & Jess L. – waiting for the workout to begin

NBGNO10.8.14The 2.2 mile group – waiting for the walk sign to continue the run

I’m towards the back of the group – not with the November Project people like I usually would be

NBGNO10.8.14_groupExcited full NBGNO Boston group

It was a really moving event for me & I found the tears flowing as I listened. I lost a Great Aunt to breast cancer. She was scared of visiting doctors so by the time she was diagnosed the cancer had already spread and nothing could be done to stop it from being terminal. I was close with this aunt & I think I get a lot of my personality from her. I share her love for the Boston Red Sox. (She had seasons tickets behind the Red Sox dugout!) She worked in advertising and I think that’s the root of my interest in marketing & communications. Some of my favorite childhood memories involve visiting her & my Great-Grandmother on Sundays for huge family meals and fun stories. I lost both my Great-Aunt & Great-Grandmother to cancer the same year – just months apart from each other. Thank you to New Balance for hosting & Sherri from Fun Fit Flavor for being the event MC and one of the speakers.

Leave a Reply

