I Did It! 26.2 Miles – Boston Marathon Route – Jimmy Fund Walk

Jimmy Fund Walk 1

Jimmy Fund Walk 2Checking in at the Hopkinton start

Sunday was the Boston Marathon Jimmy Fund Walk.

I completed the whole 26.2 mile route in 10 hours. I walked with my father-in-law and as we crossed the finish line he said “Now you have a personal best for the Boston Marathon course. Who cares how long it took! Not many people can say they’ve done that!” I was ready to cry (tears of joy).

It was an amazing experience & I’m so glad I did it! Hopkinton to Boston – and all the cities & towns in between.

Jimmy Fund Walk 4Here I am – a little over 10 miles in – entering Natick (the city my office is located in)

Jimmy Fund Walk 5My father-in-law Marcis & I – still smiling at the lunch rest stop

Curing cancer is a cause everyone can get behind. It was inspiring to see all the teams walking – each with their own personal connection that brought them to walk day.

Every mile marker has a picture & story of someone who has fought cancer at Dana-Farber. It’s tradition for walkers to touch every mile marker as they pass it, as a way of passing on hope to the person pictured.

Jimmy Fund Walk 3

Jimmy Fund Walk 6Nearly finished! Just 1.2 miles more to go!

Jimmy Fund Walk 7Finish line – woo-hoo!

My husband surprised me at the finish line with a bouquet of flowers. He purposely chose blue & yellow flowers because they’re the colors for the Boston Athletic Association. (BAA manages the Boston Marathon.)

Jimmy Fund Walk 8My husband Dave & I

I earned 42 Weight Watchers Activity Points Plus values for the 26.2 mile walk.

I’m still short of my fundraising goal so if anyone is interested in making a donation, my personal fundraising page is http://www.jimmyfundwalk.org/2014/daniellekempe

9 thoughts on “I Did It! 26.2 Miles – Boston Marathon Route – Jimmy Fund Walk

    • Thanks Georgina!

      I’m super glad I could complete the course without my klutziness getting in the way.

      In 2012 – I attempted the Boston Marathon Jimmy Fund Walk route with my father-in-law Marcis, Curtis (the cousin I walk for), and Sarah (Curtis’s wife). I rolled my ankle when I tripped at mile 17.
      Passing mile 17 without any issues this year was HUGE for me & made me think “OK! You’ve got this! You’re finishing the course this year!”

      I’m skipping the blogger meetup on Thursday (to give my legs some recovery time) but I’m sure I’ll see you at a blogger event soon!

  1. Pingback: November Project – Week 13 | Getting Fit in Massachusetts

  2. Pingback: Yoga Fundraiser for Jimmy Fund Walk | Getting Fit in Massachusetts

  3. Pingback: Geeks Who Drink Quiz for a Cause to Benefit the Jimmy Fund | Getting Fit in Massachusetts

  4. Pingback: 9/2 – Geeks Who Drink Quiz for a Cause to Benefit the Jimmy Fund | Getting Fit in Massachusetts

  5. Pingback: Marathon Weekend in Boston | Getting Fit in Massachusetts

Leave a Reply

