Tapering – in Anticipation of the Jimmy Fund Walk

Boston Marathon Jimmy FundOn Sunday, I’m walking 26.2 miles for the Boston Marathon Jimmy Fund Walk (supporting the Jimmy Fund & Dana-Farber Cancer Institute).

I’m walking with my father-in-law (and he’s done this route for many years). He wisely advised me to lower my activity level for the week prior to the walk – so I have fresh muscles on walk day and don’t accidentally injure myself.

This morning I skipped stair climbing with November Project. While I missed the smiling faces of the tribe, it was definitely the right decision.

It hit me yesterday – this is my way of tapering before marathon day! I may not be running the marathon but I’m still getting in the distance while supporting an amazing cancer fighting institution.

Why do I walk? One of my husband’s cousins had his life saved by Dana-Farber when he fought cancer as a child. My husband’s family has had a team in this cousin’s honor since the Boston Marathon Jimmy Fund Walk was founded.

My goal is to have at least $500 raised by walk day. If you’d like to support me, visit: http://www.jimmyfundwalk.org/2014/daniellekempe

3 thoughts on “Tapering – in Anticipation of the Jimmy Fund Walk

Leave a Reply

