November Project on the 4th of July

November Project 7.4.14

Happy Independence Day from November Project Boston! 

I’m on the left in the purple November Project shirt and American Flag bandana

November Project Boston meets 3 times a week – but I’ve only adjusted my work schedule to be able to join them on Wednesdays for climbing the Harvard Stadium stairs.

The 4th of July holiday falling on a Friday this year meant I could join the hill running fun with November Project on Summit Ave in Brookline. There was even a potluck picnic post workout! (I brought 2 cases of water.)

I arrived to the workout a little early – so I was one of the 1st to arrive. (Didn’t want to get lost trying to find the workout so I left plenty of time.) I knew I was in the right place when 2 Novemember Project regulars pulled their car behind mine. They gave me hugs and said I was in the right place.

The workout was grueling but fun. Try to get in 4 laps of the hill – down and back. I got in 2.5 laps but then had to run in to join the picture above. According to my Garmin watch I got in 3.71 miles.

In an awesome “small world” moment, I was running behind someone wearing a singlet for the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation. I work for CFF managing 6 of their Great Strides walks and their social media. I shouted at her that “CFF rocks” and sped up to match her speed and chat. Her name was Laura and she ran the Boston Marathon for CFF this year! (Her marathon time was 03:45! Great job!) I told her I was the person tracking our marathon runners times and messaging them out on Facebook and Twitter, so I was cheering for her the whole day. I was glad to make the connection.

Speaking of being “glad” about things, I’m so super glad that I’m part of the November Project tribe and was welcomed in with open arms & lots of hugs. It’s tough to explain November Project to people because the community is so much more than just a workout group. You should show up and join me some Wednesday soon to learn what I mean.

Here’s a picture of me post workout that my husband Dave took when I arrived home:

2014-07-04 08.53.27Yay USA & November Project! 😀

One thought on “November Project on the 4th of July

  1. Pingback: Reflections on 2 years of November Project Boston workouts | Getting Fit in Massachusetts

Leave a Reply

