Finish at the 50 5K – 7/3/14

gillette_jumbotronMe in the blue skirt – finishing the race on the Gillette Stadium field

The key word for the Finish at the 50 5K was “Hot!”

It was over 90 degrees at race time and the announcers were warning people “This is not the day to set a PR” and to be sure to keep hydrated.

I drank 20 oz of water on the way to the race to be sure I wouldn’t have hydration issues.

I walked most of the race, but I was OK with that. I figured it was better to save my energy for the end, so I could sprint on to the field.

My results were 48:54 overall time & pace of 15:45 minute mile.

I think walking was a wise strategy because I saw a lot of people collapsing and needing medical attention on the course. The medical staff for the Finish at the 50 5K were amazing though and were immediately on the scene the second someone needed help.

My husband Dave got to wait for me in the shade of the Gillette Stadium stands and get the picture above of the jumbo-tron broadcasting my finish.

Here are two more pictures of me from race day:

 2014-07-03 16.32.56At the start line

Finish at the 50Proud finisher

Did you run the Finish at the 50 5K or 10K? How did your race day go?

2 thoughts on “Finish at the 50 5K – 7/3/14

  1. Pingback: Finish at the 50 | Staying Square in Massachusetts

  2. Pingback: Finish at the 50 – Race Photos | Getting Fit in Massachusetts

Leave a Reply

