B.A.A. 5K – An AMAZING Experience

It’s 2 days post race, and I’m still on a runners high from the Boston Athletic Association 5K race on Saturday!

It was just amazing. I knew this race was going to have more runners than any race I’d been a part of before – but there were over 8,600 runners this year!

As I got in the corral to get ready for the race start, I was in awe of how many were running to prove we are Boston Strong! (Many Boston Marathon bombing victims had teams in the race, and one who had lost a leg from the bombing raced in a wheelchair.)

Here’s a photo of me just before the race start (36 degrees):

ImageIt was pretty emotional to be part of this group of runners but also inspiring. I cried tears of joy at many points on the route.

The coolest part of this race is that it brings runners over the Boston Marathon finish line. As I crossed that line, I threw my hands up and jumped. I’m hoping a race photographer got a photo. I figured, I’m not going to ever be a marathon runner, so I should enjoy running across the Boston Marathon finish line while I had the chance.

The actual finish of the 5k was at the Boston Common. My husband Dave snapped a picture of me just before the finish:

ImageI was still having a wonderful time and giving thumbs up. 🙂 The temperature had climbed to 50 degrees by this point so that’s why I tied my jacket around my waist.

Here are my race results:

Net Time 43:19
Overall 8226/8640
In Gender 4806/5109 (Female)
In Division 944/969 (F25-29)

I wish I’d run a little more of the course to get under 40 minutes, but it was still an amazing race that I’m proud I was a part of.

My friend Jess (who’s running the Boston Marathon as I type this – go Jess!) was volunteering at the B.A.A. 5K food tent so Dave got a picture of us together and me beaming with my medal.

Image

 

Post race, I walked to the Hynes Convention Center to browse the running expo. I couldn’t stop smiling. I love being a part of “Boston Runs as One”. (It says that on the back of my BAA 5K medal.)

Image

 

I changed out of my running clothes when I got home, but proudly wore my BAA 5K medal the rest of the day (even out to dinner with my parents and an Ultrasonic Rock Orchestra show that night – benefiting One Fund Boston).

2 thoughts on “B.A.A. 5K – An AMAZING Experience

  1. We are both beaming in our photo! So proud of you!! And also… don’t doubt that you will never cross the marathon finishline as a participant; if that is a goal or dream of yours, I have no doubt you can and WILL achieve it. You’re amazing!

Leave a Reply

