Social Boston Sports – Fit League at Brooklyn Boulders

Last night, I was back at Brooklyn Boulders Somerville for Social Boston Sports Fit League.

This time, the class was broken into 3 sections – working out on the pull up bars/weight room, auto belay climbing, and cardio on treadmills/rowing machine/elliptical.

One of my team members, Jess, wasn’t able to attend last night, so my husband Dave subbed in.

I’m still not comfortable climbing but I got further up the rock wall than I’ve ever been before.

Dave rocked it and got to the top of another wall. (But coming back down on the auto belay shook him up a little. It’s a weird feeling of a few second free fall.)

I was OK with the session and actually kinda happy that it’s resembling more of the bootcamp type style SBS Fit League has taken in the past. It seems everyone else in the league wants more time climbing though.

As Dave & I were leaving, once of the instructors – Nicole – stopped me to say that “maybe you 2 should go out for a nice dinner when we work on belaying”. I was glad my husband heard her too, because I totally had a moment of “did she just say what I think she said?!” with Dave when she walked away.

We don’t think Nicole meant to be mean or discouraging but that’s how it came out. It was just random of her. She didn’t even see me climbing that night because the auto belay wall had a different instructor! She just saw me not hold well off the workout room wall.

It was discouraging and not what I expected from an SBS league.

5 thoughts on “Social Boston Sports – Fit League at Brooklyn Boulders

  1. Hi Danielle,

    First off, I am very sorry if what I said offended you in any way. However, I do believe that you are being a bit unfair in taking my statement out of context. You and your husband are already expert belayers, and I know that because I was your instructor for your belay class! My first response was to offer you a different workout that night. The second comment, the one about dinner, was said in a joking manner as already know both of your skill levels. If you’d like to discuss this further, please reach out to me directly as your happiness with the class and your progress in it are my number one priority! And again, I do apologize for the misunderstanding.

    • Thanks for your reply Nicole.

      I do not believe I’m taking your statement out of context.
      There was no mention of “you already took a belay course” as context for the statement.

      I appreciate you reaching out to clarify.

      I’m still not sure about my happiness with the SBS class, but that doesn’t have anything to do with you. I’ve taken all the SBS Fit Leagues offered at Boston Athletic Club, so I’m used to their format (and not needing to overcome a fear of heights).

      My friend Jess will be there on Wednesday and I promised her I would be too.

  2. Rock climbing is difficult and intense. For many, it’s a far reach outside their comfort zone. You continue to inspire me with your willingness to try new things and give it your all. I am confident that you will make it to the top of one of the walls. I have seen you achieve many goals you have set for yourself, and this is no different.. (though, I suppose getting to the top of a wall is a goal that I set for you… I hope you’re on board!) Keep up the good work and keep on blogging, girl! ❤

    • Thanks Jess. You’re being there on the team to support me is what’s kept me from quitting.

      See you tonight!

      I don’t know about getting to the top of a wall, but I’ll work on getting 1/2 way up. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Essentia & Awake Boston Fitness Event | Getting Fit in Massachusetts

Leave a Reply

