Barre class – without a barre!

Sometimes, free fitness classes aren’t what you’d expect them to be.

Last night, I attended a free Barre class offered by Athleta on Newbury Street in Boston.

Hilariously enough, the class did not have the one thing I expected it to have – a barre!

I’d chosen to try this class because I thought having a barre to hold during moves would help my balance. Without one, I didn’t do so well.

Don’t get me wrong, it was a workout! It just wasn’t what I was expecting.

The store clerks moved aside clothing racks and we put yoga mats on the floor to work off of.

I felt faint towards the end of the class and started seeing spots in front of my eyes, so I stopped instead of pushing further. (I had to drive home after all. No need to scare my husband by having the store call him as my emergency contact.)

I’d try another type of class at Athleta that doesn’t require special equipment to give them another chance. Another participant I was chatting with before class recommended their Zumba class.

And I may try Barre again at a studio that has a Barre.

For now, I have another funny story on my road to fitness.

Not my class (mine was only 10 people) but this is what the store looks like when it holds fitness classes:

Image

2 thoughts on “Barre class – without a barre!

Leave a Reply

