Social Boston Sports – Soccer Novice League

Social Boston Sports

My friend Jess L. asked me to join a soccer league with her, and I figured, why not? She’s been a great running coach, so I don’t see the downside to adding in another fitness filled night with her in my week.

Jess and I met in Social Boston Sports Fit League, so my one requirement was that the soccer league be through SBS.

Last night was our 1st game, and the start time was 10 PM. (Luckily most of the games this season are much earlier in the night.) I’m usually going to bed around 10 PM most work nights, so I wasn’t sure how this would work.

We’re on a “free agent” team, which means that everyone joined the league individually and we were grouped as a team. So, all the team members besides Jess are strangers, but they seem like nice people and they were very encouraging.

I was the only one on the team who had literally never played soccer before, but I warned the rest of the team and didn’t mind their direction from the sidelines.

We were competitive and ended the 1st half of the game tied 2-2, but the other team prevailed in the second half. Oh well! We still had fun and figure there’s no where to go but up.

A lot of other members of our team were winded as they came to the sidelines, and I wasn’t. I’d like to think this is because I’ve taken up running, so sprinting up a soccer field doesn’t bother me. (I’m not sure if it’s that, or that I didn’t run as much as others.) But, I did earn 3 Weight Watchers activity points for the night, so I was moving. 🙂

I’m looking forward to a fun season.

Leave a Reply

