Weather in New England Does Not Always Get Along with Outdoor Workouts

The weather report for Sunday has changed, and they’re now saying we’ll have a storm this weekend that drops 6-10 inches of snow.

I was already nervous about the Somerville Jingle Bell Run (5K) on Sunday, but adding snow to the mix gives me a lot more to worry about.

I’ve e-mailed the race organizers to ask if the race is still on even if it’s snowing. I have a feeling the answer will be “yes” and I better get some yaktrax ready for my shoes, but I didn’t want to be wrong on that and be the only person to show up. Getting to the race shouldn’t normally be a problem because I live close to a MBTA stop, but who knows how snow will change an already slow Sunday T schedule.

Edit: Woo-hoo! My prayers were answered and the run has been rescheduled!

The following was just posted to the organizer’s Facebook page:
Hola Marathon Sports Jinglahs:I have just been informed by the City of Somerville that due to the winter storm blowing in on Saturday and lasting until Sunday morning in various forms that it is requesting that I reschedule the event until December 22, 2014 at 11:00 A.M. I have agreed to do this

All registered people have had their registration extended to December 22, 2013. If you are unable to make the reschedule date please still feel free to pick up your bib and tee/merchandise at today’s Marathon Sports-Cambridge pick up and at tomorrows Olde Magoun Saloon-Somerville pick up. There will also be a day of race pick up on December 22, 2013 at the Somerville Senior Center from 8:30-10:30 AM.

Cheers Paulie

Leave a Reply

