5K Fear – Pre-race Jitters

This Sunday, I’m running the Jingle Bell Run 5K in Davis Square.

Image
Once again, I’m not prepared to run the whole race, and I’m focusing on finishing it. I’m hoping that I’ll be able to improve on my finishing time from the Thanksgiving Turkey Trot, but we’ll see how that goes.

As of today, weather.com is saying Sunday will be 32 degrees and cloudy (but no rain or snow). After the slushy commute to work this morning, I’m hoping that the weather stays dry for Sunday. I’ll deal with cold. (After all, you warm up quickly as you run.) But rain, sleet, snow, and ice scare me.

I’m proud of myself for sticking to my plan to run/walk the 5K, but I’m also annoyed that my running skill is so lacking that I still walk most of the race. But, that means I can only improve with practice, right?

Leave a Reply

